Virtual Classrooms

I was searching on the internet for scholarly information for the other class that I am taking and I ran across a current article that I found interesting.  A study was conducted to see how the environment affected the success of an individual. The class was computer science, a subject still predominantly male. The study found that women reached a higher success in a virtual classroom rather than a face to face classroom because the felt a sense of belonging.

 

Check it out for yourself.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Virtual Classrooms

  1. In all my research, which is still limited to what I have done for this class, I have found repeated times where kids/students say that the sense of belonging is greatly increased when using technology. The shy kids feel comfortable speaking up, everyone gets a chance to participate, and you don’t have to wait your turn to comment (on a blog). I think in a world where everyone strives so hard to belong somewhere, it is amazing that educators can give this sense of connectedness to everyone at the same time.

  2. Thanks for this article, Cathy. I was going to say basically what Sarah said above, but now I don’t have to. 🙂

    I tweeted out your post but realized that I don’t think you have a Twitter account. Do you? Or did I just miss it? It’s not on this list I don’t think: http://twitter.com/#!/courosa/eci831-fall2011/members

    Let me know if you are willing to give it a try. 🙂

  3. Thanks for this posting. I am an occasional non-credit participant in the ECI 831 course and you have given me another grain of gold (as they say in Sweden!) to add to my collection and pass on to other groups.
    I got to this post via the post on “Sharing” so thought I would give you more evidence that sharing actually works – not that you need more evidence being on a course like this!

Please Leave a Reply

